Learn The Suits, Cards, Values

A brand new deck of playing cards will have the cards in order - 4 suits, 13 cards each, King to Ace.

  • Learn the 4 suits - Spades and Clubs are black; Hearts and Diamonds are red.

left to right: Spade, Heart, Club, Diamond

  • Learn the individual cards - each suit has the same 13 cards: ranked high to low - A (Ace), K (King), Q (Queen), J (Jack), 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2. The suits all have equal value and the Ace is the only card whose value can be used as a high card (above King) or a low card (as a 1 below 2, also called a deuce). Each individual card's value is based upon the ranking of the "hand" as a whole (5 cards for standard poker).

Spades suit Ace to deuce

Hearts suit Ace to deuce

Clubs suit Ace to deuce

Diamonds suit Ace to deuce